Arizona wins College World Series, beats SC - FOX Carolina 21

Arizona wins College World Series, beats SC

Posted: Updated:
OMAHA, NE (FOX Carolina) -

The reigning two-time national champion Gamecocks faced a must-win situation Tuesday night in Omaha but fell to Arizona 4-1. 

South Carolina lost to the Wildcats Tuesday night in a best-of-three match up at the College World Series in Omaha, NE.

The Gamecocks' lead pitcher Michael Roth made his eighth CWS start, a CWS record, for the Gamecocks along with the Wildcats' James Farris. 

Arizona's Trent Gilbert had a RBI ground out, giving them a 1-0 lead in the top of the third inning, but South Carolina returned with Kyle Martin's RBI in the seventh to tie 1-1.

SLIDESHOW: Gamecocks, fans travel to Omaha

During the top of the ninth, Arizona came back with three runs to take the lead 4-1. Arizona's Mathew Troupe closed out the game with bases loaded and two outs, but held off the Gamecocks for the championship. 

The Gamecocks also called in Matt Price and Tyler Webb as pitchers during Game Two.

Monday was the first meeting ever between the two schools on the baseball diamond, and both teams brought sophomore pitchers to the mound to kick-off the final series, but the Gamecocks fell 5-1.

While South Carolina couldn't make school history with a third-consecutive championship, it was the fourth CWS title for the Wildcats (first since 1986) and second title for head coach Andy Lopez. His first was with Pepperdine University in 1992. 

South Carolina won the CWS in 2010 and 2011.

Copyright 2012 FOX Carolina (Meredith Corporation). All rights reserved.

Powered by WorldNow
Fox Carolina
Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2014, WHNS; Greenville, SC. (A Meredith Corporation Station) and WorldNow. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.