LSUS' Cantwell named Coach of the Year - FOX Carolina 21

LSUS' Cantwell named Coach of the Year

Posted: Updated:
Shreveport, LA (LSUS Sports Information) -

The Red River Athletic Conference announced that LSU Shreveport first-year Head Coach Al Cantwell was voted as the Coach of the Year in the RRAC for the 2014 season as voted on by his peers. The Pilots claimed the regular season title this season under Coach Cantwell; it was the schools 4th overall regular season crown on the diamond.

"When you have a group of 50 student athletes who give their all to a common goal, you have something very special," said Coach Cantwell of his 2013-14 baseball roster. The Pilots claimed the regular season crown on the road against the second place team the Jarvis Christian Bulldogs as they Pilots claimed two out of four games in the series.

"This group of guys and our coaching staff has answered the bell all year long, doing the little things that matter on and off the field. Being surrounded by guys you enjoy and cheer for day in and day out makes each day at the yard a good one," added Coach Cantwell.

Under Coach Cantwell's leader ship the Pilots had the most players voted to the all-conference teams this year; six first-team selections, four-second team selections, and three named to the Gold Glove Team.

"There is no player or coach more important than the other in this group and I am just the blessed one with the label, and I could not be more thankful and proud of who and what we have become together this season," ended Coach Cantwell.

The Pilots will learn their Opening Round destination on Friday night at 7 p.m. and will leave on Saturday with only two of the possible locations being less than seven hours from Shreveport. The next tournament begins on Monday (May 12) and will consist of a five-team double elimination bracket ending on Thursday (May 15).

There are nine sites with five-teams and the winner of the nine brackets will go to the 2014 Avista-NAIA World Series (May 23-30) in Lewiston, Idaho, to meet the host Lewis-Clark State to fill a 10-team double elimination tournament to crown the 2014 National Champion.

Powered by Frankly
Fox Carolina
Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2018, WHNS; Greenville, SC. (A Meredith Corporation Station) . All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.