Furman PG Stephen Croone named AP All-American Honorable Mention - FOX Carolina 21

Furman PG Stephen Croone named AP All-American Honorable Mention

Posted: Updated:
Furman logo (File) Furman logo (File)


Paladins’ Croone Earns AP Honorable Mention All-American Honors


Greenville, S.C. -- Furman guard Stephen Croone has been named Associated Press Honorable Mention All-American, it was announced this week.

The senior, who averaged 17.1 points per game, including 19.2 per contest versus Southern Conference opposition, is the first Paladin to garner AP Honorable Mention All-America honors since Jonathan Moore in 1978. Croone captured consensus Southern Conference Player of the Year honors, All-SoCon honors and NABC All-District First Team accolades, helping Furman to a 19-16 overall record, 11-7 league mark, third place conference finish and a second round appearance in the CollegeInsider.com Postseason Tournament.

The Covington, Ga.,native, who finished his career ranked fifth in Furman history with 1,936 points, finished his collegiate career as a three-time All-SoCon choice and ranked among Furman’s top five in points, assists and steals.

Croone helped Furman finish its season with a school record 14 home victories at Timmons Arena, including its first postseason home victory in school history.

2015-16 Associated Press All-America Teams

First Team

Denzel Valentine, Michigan State

Buddy Hield, Oklahoma

Tyler Ulis, Kentucky

Brice Johnson, North Carolina

Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia

Second Team

Jakob Poeltl, Utah

Ben Simmons, LSU

Perry Ellis, Kansas

Kris Dunn, Providence

Georges Niang, Iowa State

Third Team

Grayson Allen, Duke

Kevin “Yogi” Ferrell, Indiana

Jarrod Uthoff, Iowa

Kay Felder, Oakland

Jamal Murray, Kentucky

Honorable Mention (in alphabetical order)

Ryan Anderson, Arizona; Anthony “Cat” Barber, N.C. State; DeAndre’ Bembry, Saint Joseph’s; Ben Bentil, Providence; Trevon Bluiett, Xavier; Joel Bolomboy, Weber State; Evan Bradds, Belmont; Dillon Brooks, Oregon; Cane Broome, Sacred Heart; John Brown, High Point; Antonio Campbell, Ohio; Kyle Collinsworth, BYU; Stephen Croone, Furman; James Daniel III, Howard; Juan’ya Green, Hofstra; Derrick Griffin, Texas Southern; Alex Hamilton, Louisiana Tech; A.J. Hammons, Purdue; Marvelle Harris, Fresno State; Josh Hart, Villanova; Danuel House, Texas A&M; Brandon Ingram, Duke; Stefan Jankovic, Hawaii; Tim Kempton, Lehigh; Max Landis, IPFW; Shawn Long, Louisiana-Lafayette; Dallas Moore, North Florida; Nic Moore, SMU; Gary Payton II, Oregon State; Alec Peters, Valparaiso; Justin Robinson, Monmouth (N.J.); Domantas Sabonis, Gonzaga; Justin Sears, Yale; Pascal Siakam, New Mexico State; Melo Trimble, Maryland; Fred VanVleet, Wichita State; Thomas Walkup, Stephen F. Austin; Jameel Warney, Stony Brook; Isaiah Whitehead, Seton Hall; Greg Wiltjer, Gonzaga.

Copyright 2016 FOX Carolina (Meredith Corporation). All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly
Fox Carolina
Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2018, WHNS; Greenville, SC. (A Meredith Corporation Station) . All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.