Burning ban issued for 5 Upstate counties - FOX Carolina 21

Burning ban issued for 5 Upstate counties

Posted: Updated:
(file/FOX Carolina) (file/FOX Carolina)

The South Carolina Forestry Commission on Wednesday issued a State Forester’s Burning Ban for five Upstate counties: Anderson, Greenville, Oconee, Pickens and Spartanburg.

The ban was enacted because of weather conditions in the Upstate that present an elevated risk of wildfire, officials said. The counties are forecasted to have gusting winds and very low relative humidity in the coming days, “which combine with dry fuels on the ground to create the potential for outdoor fires escaping easily and spreading rapidly,” a news release stated.

A State Forester’s Burning Ban prohibits outdoor burning, which includes yard debris burning and burning for forestry, wildlife or agricultural purposes. While campfires and open-fire cooking are not included in the ban, people are also asked to refrain from any unnecessary burning.

“The ongoing drought, combined with leaf fall, low humidity and high winds, is making conditions ripe for wildfire,” said SCFC Fire Chief Darryl Jones. “The intent of this burning ban is to help us avoid the number and severity of wildfires that we’re seeing in all of our neighboring states.”

South Carolina is also seeing a lot of smoke from wildfires in neighboring states. Read more here

Copyright 2016 FOX Carolina (Meredith Corporation). All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly
Fox Carolina
Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2018, WHNS; Greenville, SC. (A Meredith Corporation Station) . All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.