South Carolina Athletic Hall of Fame honors Hootie and the Blowfish, Dawn Staley

The South Carolina Athletic Hall of Fame held it's annual induction ceremony on Monday night
Published: Apr. 14, 2023 at 8:13 PM EDT|Updated: May. 15, 2023 at 6:13 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

GREENVILLE, S.C. (FOX Carolina) - The 61st annual South Carolina Athletic Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Banquet took place on Monday, May 15th at the Columbia Convention Center.

Being enshrined this year with the Class of 2023 were soccer coach Mark Berson, wide receiver Robert Brooks and Olympian Dawn Ellerbe from the University of South Carolina; Clemson golf coach Larry Penley and quarterback Woody Dantzler; NBA All-Star Jermaine O’Neal, Georgia Tech quarterback Joe Hamilton and Negro League standout Charles “Chino” Smith of Darlington County. Smith was enshrined posthumously.

Being recognized with the Willie Jeffries Ambassador for Sports Award was the band Hootie & the Blowfish while longtime media relations professional Charlie Dayton was honored with the Bobby Richardson Sportsmanship Award. Tennis historian Rex Maynard received the Doc Blanchard Citizen for Sports Award while veteran scribe Willie T. Smith, III was honored with the Herman Helms Excellence in Media Award. Doug Bridges was recognized with the Dom Fusci Leadership in Action Award.

Larry Penley at SC Hall of Fame induction

The organization also honored the North Greenville University baseball team for capturing the NCAA Division II National Championship in 2022, USC coach Dawn Staley for being named the Naismith Women’s Basketball Coach of the Year, and Lander wrestling coach R.C. LaHaye for being named The Mat NCAA Division II Coach of the Year.

Mark Berson interview from SC Athletic Hall of Fame